ST. MARY'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

Senate Bill 250 Environment – Climate Crisis Plan - Requirement

OPPOSE

February 28, 2023

The Honorable Senator Brian J. Feldman Education, Energy and Environment Committee Miller Senate Office Building, 2 West 11 Bladen St. Annapolis, Maryland 214013 East

Dear Chairman Feldman:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County **OPPOSE** Senate Bill 250 - Environment – Climate Crisis Plan – Requirement which was heard in the Education, Energy and Environment Committee.

We oppose SB 250 and urge an unfavorable report. We do not believe this legislation will benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. We look forward to working with you on this and other initiatives throughout the session.

Sincerely, COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/sf T:/Consent/2022/062

Cc: Senator Jack Bailey Delegate Matthew Morgan Delegate Todd Morgan Delegate Brian Crosby Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr. Commissioner Eric Colvin Commissioner Michael Hewitt Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow David Weiskopf, County Administrator John Sterling Houser, Assistant County Attorney

P.O. BOX 653 • CHESAPEAKE BUILDING • 41770 BALDRIDGE ST., LEONARDTOWN, MD 20650 PHONE 301.475.4200 EXT. 71350 • FAX 301.475.4935 • <u>www.stmarysmd.com</u> • CSMC@STMARYSCOUNTYMD.GOV